Big Cats Biological Classification

Every living thing on earth has been named and classified. These biological classifications, also called taxonomy, show how different living things are related to each other. Big cats biological classification works the same way.

The classification of living things began with Aristotle over 2,300 years ago. He created two groups, animals and plants, and then divided the animals into three subgroups – animals that could fly, walk or swim. In the 1700s, a Swedish botanist named Carl Linnaeus created a system for describing and grouping taxa (organisms). Linnaeus is often referred to as the “father of taxonomy.”

biological classificationKingdoms

The current biological classification of living things includes five kingdoms:

  • Protista (Protists) – single-celled organisms that have a nucleus. Protists slime molds and algae. They are not animals, plants, fungi or bacteria.
  • Monera – single-celled organisms that don’t have a nucleus
  • Fungi (Fungus) – motionless organisms that absorb nutrients for survival. Most fungi are multicellular.
  • Plantae (Plants) – plants that contain chlorophyll, a green pigment necessary for photosynthesis. The plant kingdom is the second largest d.
  • Animalia (Animals) multi-celled organisms that have nervous systems. The animal kingdom is the largest kingdom.

Sometime the Monera kingdom is divided into two separate kingdoms, Eubacteria and Archeobacteria. The Archaebacteria kingdom was discovered in 1983 when scientists found single-celled organisms in samples taken from places where water, gases and molten rock boiled to the Earth’s surface. Eubacteria are complex single-celled organisms that include most bacteria. Big cats are members of the animalia (animal) kingdom.


A kingdom is divided into smaller groups called Phylum. The animal kingdom has approximately 35 phyla, including:

  • Cnidaria (invertebrates)
  • Cordata (vertebrates) – The cordata phylum is made up of 3 subphylum: Tunicate, Cephalochordata and Vertebrata.
  • Arthropods (centipedes, insects, spiders)
  • Molluscs Echinoderms (mollusks)
  • Annelids (earthworms, leeches)
  • Sponges
  • Jellyfish

Big cats are members of the Chordata phylum and Vertebrata subphylum.


The subphylum Vertebrata is divided into superclasses and classes. The superclass Tetrapoda (four-limbed vertebrates) includes the classes of:

  • Amphibia (amphibians)
  • Reptilia (reptiles)
  • Synapsida
  • Mammalia (mammals)
  • Aves (birds)

In big cat biological classification, big cats are members of the mammalia class.


The mammalia (mammal) class is made up of 4 groups called orders:

  • Carnivora (meat eaters)
  • Primate
  • Artiodactyla
  • Rodentia

Big cats are part of the carnivore order.


The carnivore order is made up of different “families” with similar features:

  • Felidae (Cats)
  • Canidae (Dogs)
  • Ursidae (Bears)
  • Mustelidae (Weasels).

Big cats are members of the Felidae (cat) family. The Felidae family has four sub-families:

  • Pantherinae
  • Felinae
  • Machairodontinae – prehistoric/extinci
  • Proailurinae – prehistoric/extinct


Families are made up of smaller groups called genus. The members of a genus are closely related and have similar features and characteristics.


A species is an even smaller group of animals within a genus that can interbreed and produce offspring.

More About the Big Cat Subfamilies

The Pantherinae subfamily includes the genus Panthera, Uncia and Neofelis. The Panthera genus is made up of four species:

  • tigers (Panthera tigris)
  • lions (Panthera leo)
  • jaguars (Panthera onca)
  • leopards (Panthera pardus)

A fifth species, the Longdan tiger (Panthera zdanskyi) once existed in China but is now extinct. Members of the Panthera genus (tigers, lions, jaguars and leopards) make up half of the big cats and are the only cats that roar. The genus Uncia includes the snow leopard (Uncia uncia or Panthera uncial), the only big cat classified in this genus. The third Pantherinae genus, Neofelis, includes the clouded leopard and the Sunda clouded leopard. Felinae, the second subfamily of Felidae, includes small and medium-sized wild cats, as well as two big cats, the cougar and cheetah. .

Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest1Share on Reddit0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on TumblrDigg thisEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

3 Comments on "Big Cats Biological Classification"

Notify of

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Rico Bailey
Rico Bailey
3 years 5 months ago

some memory correct or not, divided large cats from smaller by the size of the voice box and corresponding roar. Although large in size, the puma was regarded a small cat. Old school?

Linda J Daugherty
3 years 2 months ago

Love big cats would love to work with these precious cats and start sponser them

Todd Eagle
2 years 1 month ago

Awesome Web Site, Enjoyed Prowling Around Alot, Love The Big Cats Myself =^..^=